Writing Challenge (Day 9): “When” Writing

*In these sessions, I must focus on conveying some sort of time period. “When can be seasonal, a time of day, or even a special occasion.” I don’t really know what I’m doing so I am just gonna go with the random thoughts that pop into my head and hope they don’t terrify the three people who read my blog.*

Session 1 (5 minutes): Summer Rainstorm

The rain. It cools my weathered skin, yet the warmth of a summer night still kisses me. The loneliness that consumes me is drawn elsewhere, away from such a beautiful glow of euphoria. I mean, I know all to well that the loyal companion will always return.

But, the rain.

I feel reborn. The drops cover me in a coat of numbness. Untouchable, I forget about yesterday and am invigorated by not tomorrow, but now. Right now. My feet are bare – one with the earth below me. They embrace the muddy waters and…

Session 2 (10 minutes): Graduation

I am cold. So cold. But it’s 91 degrees outside. I don’t understand. I am shivering.

I never liked big events, and my graduation is probably one of the biggest I have experienced I think. So many people. People I never got to know. People I never wanted to know. People who never wanted to know me.

See, I’m average. I don’t really have any talents – trust me on that. I have spent my life avoiding eyes, hands, and voices. Voices especially. All I know about myself is that I am afraid. Of what you might ask? I haven’t a clue. And maybe that is a part of why I am so afraid.

Anyway, I am here, so I guess I did something right. Spent 12 years of my life or some ridiculous amount like that sitting and waiting from something immaculate to happen. School was just a placeholder, I felt. The future always seemed to have its hands on the collar of my shirt, ready to either throw me into an auroral space where I belonged and thrived or step on me and jump around until he got tired. Oops, sorry, until she got tired. I’ve decided that the future is a girl, or, I guess, a woman. She always makes me sweat and I don’t dare approach her. I just wait for her to come up to me and then I freak out and run until the source of energy leaving my body is depleted…

Session 3 (90 seconds): Wedding Rehearsal Dinner

His name was Samson, and just like his name, he was quirky and horribly bitter. Like the wrinkles etched into his face, his heart had many crevices…

Leave a Reply

