Writing Challenge (Day 5): Object Writing

Session 1 (5 minutes): Movie Theater

Waiting in line, I study the group of people within the Theater. They all seem to embody different intentions. One might assume that we’d all be here to watch a movie, but is that really true? I see a few people standing an awkward distance apart, a young boy and girl. Ahh, first date, how cute, how irritatingly cute. And the boy turns around, nonchalantly inhaling his own breath – ironic right? I notice his perspiration restricted to the creases of his forehead, and as he wipes away his body’s tears, I notice the girl. Cherubic beauty with a twinkle of neoteny still left in her eyes – a curious one. I blink and for some reason see her morph into the woman she will become. This women embodies beauty and power and as I focus on her eyes, I search for the twinkle of youthfulness…

Session 2 (10 minutes): Cigar

The big brother to the rambunctious cigarette. He has seen a lot of things, lived a lot of lives. He burns with slow and ancient grace. Bitter yet all the more inviting. I use the cigar, use him for all he’s worth. Comforting, I ignite him and I feel the memories sown into his paper skin unravel. He reminds me of myself really. Slowly encroaching on an end. But an end that leaves ashes, leaves a part of himself behind. His memories are scattered into the wind and they follow me, but they are not alone. With the ashes of the old cigar, I feel my memories tag along, like old friends, they get lost in each other lives and start to forget they ever spent time apart. As the final puffs of the cigar approach reality, I can’t help but notice the strength of the cigar. It starts to burn my lips, my mouth. It’s becoming alive – it knows it doesn’t have much time left. But this promise of an finite excising from existence only heightens his want for life. He uses each inhale as something more. His passion makes me think he can never die, never leave me, never stop comforting me. But, he breathes only once more and I…

Session 3 (90 seconds): Arrow

“WELL HELLLOOOOOO KIND SIR. Look at me, I am very inviting, am I not!? You see me, and your eyes, they go somewhere do they not! HA. Well great. This means you should look there. Where? Right there. Listen to me. I have direction. I am motivated. Don’t you feel as if you are looking directly where you should be????”

I stand there intrigued until I realize the arrow has no other purpose than to deter my focus from everyone and everything else. Stupid…

Leave a Reply

